Real me or just the imaginary one?

I heard somewhere sometime that the word most pronounced on phone in english speaking countries is the word `I`. And yes, some kind of experts stated out at once some judgment about the people – selfish, bla bla bla.. But had someone think of a fact the word `I` actually does not concern only to `me`? Maybe the talk was about the imaginary unit `i`.. that is very possible. And so most people are not selfish, they are just matematicians.. 😉

Published in: on Tuesday, November 6, 2007 at 8:40 pm  Comments (12)  
Tags: , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edgarsr.wordpress.com/2007/11/06/real-me-or-just-the-imaginary-one/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

12 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. lol. Nice concept. 🙂 btw. thanks for pointing my bug on my blog!

  2. Very interesting concept i must say… something to keep the mind busy pondering on such ideas. =]

  3. It came to me, the symbol [Pi] is more associated with 3,14… than to actual meaning that it is only a letter in ancient alphabet.

  4. haha! you might be right.

    engineers use the letter “j” though.

  5. 🙂 I won’t be original saying that this is just another proof of subjectivity of the world we’re living in. But it’s just normal that we see world trough our own eyes and understend processes through our own minds. Your explanation is the same example. You see “I” though your own experiance (matematics). I see “I” like sociological actor because I am sociologist. And it is as normal as normal something can be ;D

  6. Well, I’m not so sure about that `j` thing engeneers use.. I wonder if there wasn’t some different notion about those `i` and `j` symbols. I think, an `i` is the imaginary unit, the basic notion in complex number theory, while an `j` is something more complicated, the concept called `quarternion`.. I can’t say exactly what it is, but I have heard about such a concept sometime ago. Or is it not so and I have been misinformed?

  7. Tavs “imaginary unit” tai skaitā par 1% nesastāda 😀 😛

  8. Tur tikai pieskaitīti arī daudz tipi, kas teica: “kas i ko” 😀 😉

  9. Well, there was said it was done in English speaking countries, so I don’t think there were very much people saying something like `kas i ko` 😉

  10. Neteiktu, ka vairākas reizes mazāk, kā tavs piemērs 😀

  11. But I would say so! 8)

  12. There’s definately a lot to find out about this issue. I really
    like all of the points you’ve made.


Leave a Reply

